Bone Broth Protein Powder: What's in the Tub and Who It's For

Doug Smith, Founder · September 25, 2026 · 11 min read
Spoonful of bone broth protein powder over a mug of warm broth, with raw beef bones on a cutting board

Bone broth protein powder is broth that's been concentrated and dried, and most of its protein comes from collagen, the same protein that makes homemade broth gel. That makes it a real protein source but an incomplete one: collagen lacks tryptophan and is low in leucine, so it can't replace a complete protein like meat, eggs or whey.

"Bone broth protein" sounds like two good things in one scoop. It's one thing, described two ways. Once you know what's in the tub, you can decide whether it's the protein you need or the collagen you want, and read the label to check you're getting it.

What is bone broth protein powder made from?

It starts as broth. Bones and the connective tissue attached to them are simmered in water, and the liquid is concentrated and dried into a powder. In one food-engineering study, researchers boiled beef marrow bones to make broth and then spray-dried it, testing maltodextrin and whey protein isolate as carrier agents to help the powder form [1].

That detail matters for label readers. A carrier or added protein changes what's in the scoop. Whey means dairy, and maltodextrin means added carbohydrate, so the ingredient list is worth a look even when the front of the tub says only "bone broth."

The protein itself comes from what bones and connective tissue are made of. Collagen is the most abundant protein in mammals [2], and type I collagen is a core component of bone, working alongside its mineral [3]. Our guide to whether bone broth has collagen covers how that collagen ends up in the pot.

How much of bone broth protein is collagen?

Most of it, judging by the amino acids. Collagen has a signature pattern: in its triple helix, glycine sits at every third position, and proline and hydroxyproline fill many of the others [2]. The best composition data we found for store-bought broth comes from a small undergraduate chemistry lab analysis of 15 broths, published in an undergraduate research journal, so treat it as a supporting data point rather than settled science. Its authors describe those amino acids as key components of collagen, and in beef broth glycine was the most concentrated amino acid, with hydroxyproline and proline both ranking high [4]. The peer-reviewed study we found on broth composition measured six key amino acids in broths made several ways, not the full profile, so it can't give those shares [5].

Amino acid (commercial beef bone broth) mg per gram of broth Share of the 18 amino acids reported
Glycine 3.71 18.8%
Glutamine/glutamate 2.58 13.0%
Proline 2.21 11.2%
Hydroxyproline 1.97 9.9%
Leucine 0.73 3.7%
All eight essential amino acids measured (tryptophan not reported) 3.60 18.2%

The milligram figures come straight from that undergraduate analysis [4]. The shares are our arithmetic from its table, so treat them as an estimate from a single small study. Glycine, proline and hydroxyproline together make up about 40% of the amino acids reported, which is what you'd expect from a protein that's mostly collagen. The study measured ready-to-drink broths rather than powders, but a powder is the same material with the water removed, so the pattern should carry over unless the maker adds another protein.

How consistent that collagen is depends on the process. Researchers who analyzed broths made several ways found a large spread in amino acid content from recipe to recipe, while broth made to a fixed recipe stayed consistent batch to batch [5]. A commercial powder made to a set process should behave like the second case. The label's protein grams tell you how much you're getting per scoop.

Is bone broth protein a complete protein?

Not on its own. A complete protein supplies all nine essential amino acids in adequate amounts. Collagen lacks tryptophan entirely, which is why protein-quality scoring rates it as incomplete [6]. A protein dominated by collagen inherits that gap.

It's also light on the essential amino acids overall. Here's how the beef bone broth figures compare with other proteins analyzed in a separate lab study:

Protein Essential amino acids, share of total Leucine, share of total
Commercial beef bone broth about 18% (tryptophan not reported) about 3.7%
Egg protein 32% 7.0%
Human skeletal muscle protein 38% 7.6%
Milk protein 39% 9.0%
Whey protein 43% 11.0%

The broth row is our calculation from the small undergraduate analysis [4]; the other rows come from a peer-reviewed lab study using a different method [7]. The comparison is directional, not exact. The direction is clear, though. Bone broth protein carries roughly half the essential amino acid share of egg or milk protein, and about half the leucine.

That shows up in muscle research. In a randomized trial in 22 healthy women around age 69, 30 grams of whey raised muscle protein synthesis at rest and after exercise, while the same amount of collagen raised it only after exercise, by less, and not at all across the six-day measurement [8]. If muscle is your reason for buying protein, a collagen-dominated powder is the wrong main tool.

How does bone broth protein compare with collagen peptides and beef protein isolate?

Bone broth protein and collagen peptides are close cousins. Both are collagen-dominated, and both are incomplete. Beef protein isolate is a different case, because it varies by source and process.

Powder type What the protein mostly is Complete? What to check
Bone broth protein Collagen from simmered bones and connective tissue, plus some protein from other tissue left on the bones [4] No Carriers or added proteins; protein grams per scoop
Collagen peptides Collagen broken into smaller pieces (hydrolyzed) No Source animal; grams per scoop
Beef protein isolate Varies: some are collagen-rich, some publish a full amino acid profile Only if the finished product shows all nine essential amino acids A product-specific amino acid table
Beef isolate plus egg white Beef protein with a complete egg protein Can be, at the finished-blend level Protein grams; egg allergen
Whey Milk protein Yes Dairy tolerance

If you're weighing broth against peptides, bone broth vs collagen peptides goes deeper on format. For beef isolates, is beef protein a complete protein? explains how to verify one.

How much protein does bone broth protein powder have?

It depends on the scoop. Powders list their protein per serving on the nutrition panel, so compare grams per scoop and calories per gram of protein across products rather than trusting the front label. As a reference point, a cup of liquid bone broth usually has about 5 to 10 grams of protein: USDA data for home-prepared beef stock works out to 4.7 grams per cup [9], and store-bought broth labels in USDA's branded database run 7 to 10 grams per cup [10]. A small undergraduate lab analysis of 15 store-bought broths landed in the same range, at about 5.6 grams per cup [4].

A concentrated powder exists to beat that number without the stockpot. Just remember that more grams of the same collagen-dominated protein doesn't change its amino acid pattern.

What should you check on a bone broth protein label?

Read the ingredient list first. On a food label, ingredients appear in descending order by weight [11], so the first one tells you what the scoop mostly is.

If the first ingredient says What you're likely buying
Bone broth, bone broth protein, or bone broth concentrate Dried broth: collagen-dominated protein with some other tissue components
Collagen, beef collagen, or collagen peptides A collagen-based powder; the protein is collagen
Whey, egg white, or a named protein isolate, with broth further down A blend where another protein may carry the amino acid load

Then check four more things:

  • Protein grams per scoop. This tells you quantity, not quality.
  • Percent Daily Value for protein, if listed. By regulation, the %DV must be calculated from protein corrected for quality [12], which makes it a useful clue when a brand chooses to show it.
  • Carriers and add-ins. Maltodextrin, whey or other proteins change the carbohydrate, the allergens and the amino acid profile [1].
  • Sodium. Broth carries sodium; USDA's home-prepared beef stock has about 475 mg per cup [9]. Powders vary, and the number is on the nutrition panel.

Which should you choose: bone broth protein, collagen, or a complete protein?

Choose by the job you want the scoop to do.

Your goal What fits
A warm, savory mug with collagen-type protein Bone broth protein or a collagen powder
A measured collagen dose you can repeat every day A collagen powder with protein grams on the label
Enough protein for a meal, or for muscle A complete protein: whey, egg, soy, or a verified beef or beef-and-egg blend
Both in one scoop A complete protein with collagen added (see our guide to protein powder with collagen)

Where do Paleo Pro's powders fit?

Our Grass-Fed Bone Broth Collagen + Turmeric is bone broth protein with grass-fed beef collagen: 16 grams of protein and 70 calories per 18-gram scoop, flavored with natural flavors, monk fruit extract and turmeric root [13]. You sip it hot like broth or stir it into anything warm.

If you want bone broth protein and collagen in a mug, that's its job.

If you want complete protein, Paleo Protein is the one. It combines grass-fed beef protein isolate with egg white protein for 26 grams of protein and about 120 calories per 30-gram scoop [14]. It contains egg.

For collagen hunters, our collagen collection has both collagen formats side by side.

Frequently asked questions

Is bone broth protein a complete protein?

No, not on its own. Most of its protein comes from collagen, which lacks the essential amino acid tryptophan and is low in leucine. A product can reach complete status by adding enough of another protein, such as egg or whey, so check the ingredient list.

Does bone broth protein have collagen?

Yes. Collagen is most of it. In a small undergraduate lab analysis of store-bought beef bone broth, glycine, proline and hydroxyproline, the amino acids that define collagen, made up about 40% of the amino acids reported.

Is bone broth protein the same as collagen peptides?

They're close. Both are collagen-dominated and incomplete. Bone broth protein is dried broth, while collagen peptides are collagen that's been broken into smaller pieces on purpose. Check the first ingredient to see which one a product is.

Is bone broth protein better than whey?

For muscle and complete protein, no. Whey is a complete protein rich in essential amino acids, and in a trial in older women it stimulated muscle protein synthesis more than collagen did. Bone broth protein suits people who want collagen-type protein without dairy, as long as the label shows no whey.

How much protein is in a cup of bone broth?

Usually about 5 to 10 grams. USDA data for home-prepared beef stock works out to about 4.7 grams per cup, and store-bought bone broth labels in USDA's branded database run 7 to 10 grams. Powders pack more per serving, so check the label.

Can bone broth protein help you build muscle?

It isn't a good main protein for muscle, because it's low in leucine and missing tryptophan. It can add protein grams to your day, but build your meals on complete proteins like meat, eggs, fish, dairy or a verified complete powder.

Is bone broth protein powder dairy-free?

Broth itself contains no dairy, but a powder can include whey as a carrier or an added protein, and at least one production study tested exactly that. Read the ingredient list and the allergen statement before you assume.

Is bone broth protein powder worth buying?

Bone broth protein is a fair way to get collagen-type protein in a warm mug. It isn't a stand-in for complete protein, and a label that calls it "protein" doesn't change that. Pick the scoop for the job, then let the ingredient list confirm it.

Want collagen you can sip like broth? Grass-Fed Bone Broth Collagen gives you 16g of bone broth protein with grass-fed beef collagen, plus turmeric, in 70 calories. Need complete protein? Paleo Protein delivers 26g from beef and egg white. Both come with a 60-day money-back guarantee.

Sources

  1. Haluk E, Yeliz K, Orhan Ö. "Production of Bone Broth Powder with Spray Drying Using Three Different Carrier Agents." Korean Journal for Food Science of Animal Resources. 2018;38(6):1273-1285. PMID: 30675120
  2. Ricard-Blum S. "The collagen family." Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Biology. 2011;3(1):a004978. PMID: 21421911
  3. Viguet-Carrin S, Garnero P, Delmas PD. "The role of collagen in bone strength." Osteoporosis International. 2006;17(3):319-336. PMID: 16341622
  4. Shaw MH, Flynn NE. "Amino Acid Content of Beef, Chicken and Turkey Bone Broth." Journal of Undergraduate Chemistry Research. 2019;18(4):15-17. PDF
  5. Alcock RD, Shaw GC, Burke LM. "Bone Broth Unlikely to Provide Reliable Concentrations of Collagen Precursors Compared With Supplemental Sources of Collagen Used in Collagen Research." International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism. 2019;29(3):265-272. PMID: 29893587
  6. Paul C, Leser S, Oesser S. "Significant Amounts of Functional Collagen Peptides Can Be Incorporated in the Diet While Maintaining Indispensable Amino Acid Balance." Nutrients. 2019;11(5):1079. PMID: 31096622
  7. Gorissen SHM, Crombag JJR, Senden JMG, et al. "Protein content and amino acid composition of commercially available plant-based protein isolates." Amino Acids. 2018;50(12):1685-1695. PMID: 30167963
  8. Oikawa SY, Kamal MJ, Webb EK, et al. "Whey protein but not collagen peptides stimulate acute and longer-term muscle protein synthesis with and without resistance exercise in healthy older women: a randomized controlled trial." American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. 2020;111(3):708-718. PMID: 31919527
  9. US Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service. "Soup, stock, beef, home-prepared." FoodData Central, SR Legacy, FDC ID 172883. Accessed 2026-09-25. USDA FoodData Central
  10. US Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service. FoodData Central, Branded Foods label records for bone broth, FDC IDs 2149645, 2428179, 2669477 and 1954906. Accessed 2026-09-25.
  11. US Code of Federal Regulations. 21 CFR 101.4(a)(1), "Food; designation of ingredients." Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, current as of 2026-09-22. eCFR
  12. US Code of Federal Regulations. 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7), "Nutrition labeling of food: Protein." Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, current as of 2026-09-22. eCFR
  13. Paleo Pro. "Grass-Fed Bone Broth Collagen + Turmeric." Product label and product page, accessed 2026-09-25. Product details
  14. Paleo Pro. "Paleo Protein Powder." Product page, accessed 2026-09-25. Product details
Doug · FounderStarted Paleo Pro in his kitchen after an accident put real food at the center of his recovery. Still writes every entry himself.

Comments

← Back to the Field Journal